I called my Technical Interviewer a LOSER

How this FAANG interviewer wasted my time and effort in LIFE.

SwitchUpCB, PhD
5 min readJun 29, 2023
Photo by Shamia Casiano on Pexels

Another day. Another FAANG interview. You know the drill…

The Phone Interview

I started the day of my phone interview out like any other day. Wake up. Tune into the weather channel. Except, I’m a remote worker, so I don’t watch it for the weather, if you know what I’m saying.

My routine was going well until I remembered, “Oh yeah, I have a FAANG interview today.” Then, I received a notification from my calendar app reminding me that my interview wasn’t just “today” but in like 5 minutes.

Oh f*ck!

So what started as a soft, warm day became one where coffee was replaced with a raging adrenaline rush: I ran to my office, turned on my computer, then ran to my bedroom to put on my remote work attire. While searching for my pants, I heard a ring from the office.

Sh*t.

At that moment, I had a few seconds to decide what to do: I didn’t want to risk missing the call, so I just decided to run to my office and answer the video call without pants on. I mean, this is a remote call, so what’s the worst that could happen?

--

--